VMWare or Hyper-V for Virtualization?

On every project I work we use virtualized development machines. It is almost a requirement for SharePoint development and I would recommend it to all over physical servers, simply to keep matters (projects) separate and to avoid the inevitable pollution of any dev environment.

So the question always becomes which technology should I choose? VMWare or Hyper-V?

Traditionally I’ve always opted for VMWare as it sports more features and has less operating system requirements. I’ve used VMWare Server GSX, 1 and 2 and Workstation 4 till 7 (I try to avoid the Player). VMWare basically runs on everything (but requires some CPU support to virtualize 64 bit Guest OS) while (latest) Hyper-V requires Windows Server 2008 R2.

So I finally found some time to sit down and compare the two. Now there are a lot of variables here so I’ve cut it down to me being interested in getting the most out of the Virtual Machine in terms of performance of the Guest OS. I do not test how well it works for multiple servers, how it works for databases etc.

I compare VMWare Workstation to Hyper-V, one is a program the other a server like thingy. It might be an apples and oranges comparison however it is the choice I would usually have when working in SharePoint. Price does not matter to me – my time does.

Setup

I’ve recently reinstalled my desktop computer with Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 (SP1) and configured it to be usable as a desktop operating system. I’ve basically enabled all the features to make it look and behave almost as Windows 7 and giving me the additional option of having fun with Hyper-V.

I highly recommend looking Shinvas posts (part 1 and 2) for the how to – it is by far the better option virtualization or not.

Hardware

This is a modest PC a few years old:

CPU: E8400, 1 CPU, 2 Cores, 3 GHz

Mem: 1.111 GHz DDR3, 6 GB

Disk: Three 2 x Raid 0 (bad planning in HD buys resulted in three not one raid drive)

Software

Host is running Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 sp1.

I’ve enabled the Hyper-V role and configured it appropriately. After that I found that you cannot have both Hyper-V enabled and install/run VMWare workstation as they both come with their own version of a Hypervisor, though VMWare’s runs on top of the OS and Hyper-V the other way around. That can be solved with a dual boot configuration to the same system, one with Hyper-Vs Hypervisor (phew) enabled and one without (here).

VMWare is VMWare workstation 7.1.4.

For performance testing I used SiSoftware Sandra 2011 sp2c which should be well known and reliable. I’ve used HDTunePro for disk measurements though because Sandra was very unreliable for that (I don’t believe in x10 increase in speed just because the disk is now virtual).

Virtual Machines

I’ve unpacked an old favorite VM of mine originally made with VMWare Workstation that is a full SharePoint 2010 single server development box with SharePoint, SQL, Office and Visual Studio (though no AD). It includes VMWare tools.

I removed all snapshots and converted it to a Hyper-V VHD with VMHD to VHD (ancient tool that still works perfectly) and created a new VM for Hyper-V from that. Removed remnants of VMWare and installed the integration service components that come with Hyper-V. Also ensure that no differencing disk is in play.

The two VMs are therefore picture perfect identical and I’ve seen no issues due to the conversion at all.

I’ve executed a number of tests and on both VMWare and Hyper-V you’ll receive (by far) the best performance if you match the number (and type) of virtual CPUs with the physical numbers on the host. Therefore the VMs are configured to use 2 CPUs (Hyper-V: 2 CPUs, VMWare: 1 CPU two cores).

Results

We need some graphs! In a minute… J

To understand the following you need to understand that enabling Hyper-V installs the Hypervisor which will then slow down the host machine even when Hyper-V is not used. Your host will act as a kind of pseudo virtual machine.

Therefore I compare the following configurations:

  1. Base: Host with no hypervisor (i.e. Hyper-V disabled)
  2. Host with with hypervisor/Hyper-V
  3. Hyper-V Virtual Machine
  4. WMWare Virtual Machine, normal priority
  5. VMWare Virtual Machine, high priority

What is interesting is the performance numbers compared to the bare host and the goal is to get as close to 100% as possible.

What is measured? I’ve taken a cue from a benchmarking post at Capitalhead (excellent post!) and I’ve measured

  • “Processor Cryptography”, basically core CPU performance
  • “Processor Arithmetic” CPU performance for floating point calculations
  • “Memory Bandwidth”
  • “Disk” / “File System Performance” – to keep it simple just the average amount of data transferable is measured. Note: This measurement has been very hard to get a reliable figure for, so I’ve used both Sandra and HD Tune Pro.

Every measurement was repeated 3-5 times and averaged (took quite a while L).

The following graph is the sum of it all measured relatively to the base performance numbers, i.e. I do not consider the absolute numbers to be all that interesting:

There does not seem to be too much penalty on the host to have Hyper-V/hypervisor enabled only 6% in arithmetic. It’s somewhat better than Capitalhead, cause could be SP1, different hardware and measurement technique.

The Hyper-V VM performs consistently well in all categories, where VMWare lags a bit in the memory and arithmetic categories. Interesting the Hyper-V VM performs better than the host in arithmetic which is likely due to measurement inaccuracy.

VMWare priority seems to be of minor importance.

Conclusion

So the big question is what to choose.

From the performance test it is clear that the difference is really not that big. That means that no matter your choice it’ll work 😉 It also makes it a bit harder to choose.

Note that there are many variables and different hardware will likely have slightly different characteristics however I do believe the data is valid and representative.

Feature wise VMWare wins:

  • VMWare Workstation generally sports a lot more features than Hyper-V, the one I consider most important is the Snapshot trees that does nearly as developed in Hyper-V. Better networking support, shared folders, console drag and drop, ACE, unity, etc.
  • Hyper-V wins (in my mind) a bit on administration though I know that is because we’re comparing a server product with a workstation here, though the same conclusion is valid for the VMWare server as well (it definitely does not apply to any of their datacenter products). I’m a bit annoyed with the network support as it apparently does not support wireless network adaptors (ridiculous limitation that you need to use Internet Connection Sharing to get around). Once networking is running and you access the server through Remote Desktop the other stuff with drag and drop and shared folders does not matter.

Performance wise Hyper-V wins:

  • It is very impressive to only loose about 4% in performance (excluding the disk measurement) relative to the bare metal host – at the expense of the host
  • VMWare is naturally disadvantaged here as they do not have the option of penalizing the host and have to work on top of it. It simply is slower and the only way to remedy that is to install the full ESX server, which should have at least similar performance characteristics as the Hyper-V (at least of you only install Server 2008 Core)

For me I’ll choose Hyper-V from now on.

I like the performance and I can get around the feature limitations and I don’t care about Unity etc. That said I’ll likely continue to have a dual boot setup, just in case.

About Søren Nielsen
Long time SharePoint Consultant.

9 Responses to VMWare or Hyper-V for Virtualization?

  1. Peter Anker says:

    Very interesting. I’ve also opted for Hyper-V. With Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 it’s even more interesting now that it’s got dynamic memory allocation and RemoteFX! 😀

  2. Henri says:

    Thanks, in the pass i always installed vm workstation but now i will check at Hyper-v
    With this new version, I think it is the time to re-evaluate it

  3. sAM says:

    But it’s barely evident that a 2CPU server > 1CPU 2 cores Server, no ?

    • Søren Nielsen says:

      No it seems to be the same. Likely dependent on exact CPU type and probably also below statistical uncertainty.

  4. Max Apollo says:

    Very interesting thanks for sharing Søren … I have done the exact same test has you done above …Also compared VMWare and Hyper-V with Windows 8 (not just Windows 2008 R2) and totally agree with you. However keep in mind Hyper-V will run better than VMWare as Long as no other roles are installed. Once Hyper-V is enabled My PC Slowed down BIG Time even if not in use

    This is the reason why I will continue using VMWare on my local PC (for Lab tests and training) and use Hyper-V in Production Environment 🙂

    Cheers
    Max

    • Søren Nielsen says:

      Good to know that win 8 holds up its end.

      I agree that it slows down your system. I thought it to be a few percent – even when not in use. That is slightly annoying.

      I made my system do dual boot – one configuration with hyperv and one without. Works well, however I’ve found that I tend to just let it be enabled by default.

      • triple5iks says:

        hi Soren,

        may i know your configuration for hyper-v only ?
        im using hyper v client on win 8, Ram 8GB with I7
        i want to improve the perfomance when doing lab, is it possible to boot the laptop that using configuration that only to maximize the hyper v performance 😀

        Thankyou
        Cheers 🙂

  5. H.G. says:

    Hey!
    Here is the best machine for virtulization I have tested. Windows 8 x64 with included new Hyper-v 3.0. The only thing I miss is the cut and paste from guest to host.

    • Oh you can get copy/paste. Don’t use the hyperv terminal (unless you need to mess with the boot) – connect with rdp instead.
      Enable clipboard and local drives in the rdp settings.
      You then have copy/paste of both text and files.

Leave a Reply

